Totem of Energy Flow

9 June 2006 at 6:30 pm Leave a comment

Tomorrow is the opening for the Maudslay State Park Outdoor Sculpture Exhibit in Newburyport, Massachusetts.  I entered a piece called Totem Flow/Emergy Burn which is pictured below. 

 Totem Flow/Emergy Burn

It is a representation of the concept of energonomics or energenesis that I have been trying to develop in this blog all along. The catalog description says the following:

Totem Flow/eMergy Burn attempts to capture differing relationships of speed and slowness:  glass, which appears to be solid, is an extremely slow-moving fluid taking centuries to move, for example.  As a representation of matter-energy flow, the sculpture embodies the lesson of Einstein’s famous equation:  matter is slow light and light is fast matter.  The concept of emergy, or “embodied energy,” draws our attention to the energy that is hidden in all things. 

I have done one other sculpture along these lines, called "The Force That Through the Green Fuse Drives the Flower."  (My title comes from the poem by Dylan Thomas.)  This one is pictured below.

 The Force That Through the Green Fuse Drives the Flower

Lest you think I'm a sculptor, I'm not. . . . unless doing these two works makes me a sculptor.  This is all that I've ever done.  I certainly have wanted to create sculpture for many years now, having been a huge fan of contemporary art since my cousin took me through the Guggenheim in New York when I was sixteen.  I've called myself a "conceptual artist" for many years, since I've had lots of ideas but have never executed any of them.  (A friend of mine said, "It's the doing that makes you an artist.")  I'll talk more about the ideas behind these in a subsequent post.

Entry filed under: art, energonomics.

Superstring/Metaphor/Implication Totem Flow/eMergy Burn

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2006
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Pages


